No mat on TT

OK I’m sure I’m going to get slapped by a lot of you guys, but I realized that with the stock VTA height on my new Rega table, the cartridge which is non-Rega, is just slightly taller than stock. Having the cork mat on there made things worse so I switched to the felt mat. The static was stupid when I did that. Then just for giggles I removed the mat completely and laid the record on the glass directly expecting all kinds of noise. This actually is working out fantastIc. Not sure why, but I’m getting zero static and I have no extra background noise. Anyone else have experienced similar to this? Any thoughts on why this seems to work the best. And just a side note, the sound from the cartridges that much better because of the VTA slight adjustment back to where it should be.

Comments

• nooshinjohn
    nooshinjohn Posts: 25,034
    Not on glass, but I tried a crap record on the bare aluminum platter of my TriangleArt and experienced a similar result. I selected a carbon fiber mat shortly afterwards and it works very well
    The Gear... Carver "Statement" Mono-blocks, Mcintosh C2300 Arcam AVR20, Oppo UDP-203 4K Blu-ray player, Sony XBR70x850B 4k, Polk Audio Legend L800 with height modules, L400 Center Channel Polk audio AB800 "in-wall" surrounds. Marantz MM7025 stereo amp. Simaudio Moon 680d DSD

“When once a Republic is corrupted, there is no possibility of remedying any of the growing evils but by removing the corruption and restoring its lost principles; every other correction is either useless or a new evil.”— Thomas Jefferson
  • joecoulson
    joecoulson Posts: 4,943
    Very thin?
    Where from?
  • nooshinjohn
    nooshinjohn Posts: 25,034
    TTW.... and it’s pretty thick. The company is out of business however.