New to this and quite confused.

Hello guys, as i said in the title, im new to this. Im pretty confused on the speaker configuration and crossovers setup in the reciever. Ive read a lot of ways and honestly im even more confused lol.

So my equipment:

Polk S60 Front
Polk S35 Center
Polk S20 Surrounds
Polk HTS 10 Sub

Denon AVR-x3400H

14 gauge speaker cables.

All of this is in my bedroom 18Wx15Lx10H

Any help would really be appreciated.

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,708
    S60's front left and right
    S35 center, in the middle of left and right fronts
    S20's rear left and right
    HTS 10 where it fits

Run the calibration program. Set the fronts, center and rears to small. Set the crossover to the sub at 80Hz.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• rooftop59
    rooftop59 Posts: 7,952
    Those are nice mains and a LFE limited sub, and the AVR has pretty decent power driving relatively easy to drive speakers. So I would suggest trying @F1nut's suggestion, and then try setting the mains to large. That will take some strain off the subwoofer.

How big is the room? And is that a picture of your setup?
    Living Room 2.2: Usher BE-718 "tiny dancers"; Dual DIY Dayton audio RSS210HF-4 Subs with Dayton SPA-250 amps; Arcam SA30; Musical Fidelity A308; Sony UBP-x1000es; Squeezebox Touch with Bolder Power Supply
    Game Room 5.1.4:
    Denon AVR-X4200w; Sony UBP-x700; Definitive Technology Power Monitor 900 mains, CLR-3000 center, StudioMonitor 350 surrounds, ProMonitor 800 atmos x4; Sub - Monoprice Monolith 15in THX Ultra

Bedroom 2.1
    Cambridge Azur 551r; Polk RT25i; ACI Titan Subwoofer
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,708
    then try setting the mains to large. That will take some strain off the subwoofer.