Biamping Questions

smglbrth
smglbrth Posts: 1,458
edited April 2002 in Technical/Setup
I need some help with biamping. This is my first time entering this arena and I have some questions. I'll soon have two Carver M-200t amplifiers and a preamp and the speakers I own are RTA-8t's. How do I hook these up so I'll have one amp running each speaker for stereo sound? Am I running into more than I plan to deal with or is it simply having two "y" RCA cables to hook up? One for the left and one for the right channels from the preamp to each amplifier? The Carvers are capable of running into 300 watts with one speaker in 8 ohms. They are bridgeable.
Any insight you folks could give me would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks in advance!!
:cool:
Remember, when you're running from something, you're running to something...-me
Post edited by smglbrth on

Comments

• madmax
    madmax Posts: 12,434
    edited April 2002
    Do the RTA-8t's have two sets of inputs for each speaker? (high and low frequency inputs) If they do you can use 1 amp per channel with one channel going to the low and the other channel going to the high of each speaker. I have heard that called vertical bi-amping. In that case you would use a Y connector to feed the signal into each amp. If your speakers only have a single pair of inputs (full-range) and you can bridge each amp that would work also.
    madmax
    Vinyl, the final frontier...

Avantgarde horns, 300b tubes, thats the kinda crap I want... :D
  • smglbrth
    edited April 2002
    Madmax (like the name),
    They only have the full-range terminals, two wires. These were made back when things were simpler with only two wires running things.
    That's what I thought also. Run each amplifier mono with each speaker, which to me would make stereo sound with both speakers and amps.