Signature Series setup/crossover frequencies

I have a 5.1 setup that consists of the two S60's and an S35 for the front soundstage, and S10's for the rear, and a HTS-12 subwoofer. When I set this up in my receiver, should I have the S60's set for large or small? I've read that they do a great job with the lower frequencies and that you may not even need the sub... is that true, or will it still be better with the sub?

Also, if I set the S60's to large, do I need to define a crossover frequency? There is a place to put one in, but I didn't think it made sense on large. If I set them to small, what crossover frequency should I set for them? What about the S35 and S10s? Obviously they would have a higher cross over frequency, right?

Thanks for your help. I'm very new at this, so I don't know much about it what these different settings mean.

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,474
    What receiver are you using? How its menu reacts to you setting them to large will define how you must proceed. Can you set center and rears to small with a separate cut off point for them? If so try large in front and LFE to sub or both sub and fronts. If you set the fronts to say 60hz and cannot set the rears lower that would be no good.
  • mlurie31
    mlurie31 Posts: 8
    I have a Denon x3400h. I'm not home right now, so I can't check for sure, but I think I can set separate cutoff points for the center and rears. What does LFE to sub mean?
  • dolbyd
    dolbyd Posts: 430
    Small on everything. Crossover at 80hz.
    Nice speakers.

Main room- RTiA9 x4, CSiA6, in ceiling Atmos RT-70 x4, SVS PC 4000 x2, Marantz 8805A, OPPO 203, Emotiva DR3 G3, Emotiva XPA-2 G3, Emotiva XPA-5 G3, Emotiva X300, Sony 75" 940E, Panasonic Plasma VT50, PS Audio Power Port X2, PS Audio AC-5 x8, AQ Rocket 33 Biwire speaker cables, AQ King Cobra XLR IC, Furman PFi20 W/Cullen cable, SoildSteel S4-4 rack, Gik room treatments