New House With Existing Polk Speakers

Hello!

I moved into my first house and there is a pair of Polk speakers installed in the wall in the entertainment room. I was interested in learning more about them if anyone could help? Here's a closeup of one of the speakers:
rby9yq2h6zoy.jpg

I believe I found the connection (picture below). I wasn't familiar with this connection type, but after googling a bit, I believe it's an F connector (would love some verification on that if anyone knows?). Also, I noticed there are three connections but I only found two speakers in the wall. Does anyone know what the third connection might be?
ok87k7458ozh.jpg

I'm very new to the audio world and currently just use a soundbar with my TV. How would I go about connecting an amazon fire TV to these speakers? Would I need something else between the fire TV and the speakers?

Appreciate any help! Thanks!

Comments

• nguyendot
    nguyendot Posts: 3,594
    Those are F coax connectors. IF those truly were wired to the speakers, the third one likely is just a cable connector for TV.
    Main Surround -
    Epson 8350 Projector/ Elite Screens 120" / Pioneer Elite SC-35 / Sunfire Signature / Focal Chorus 716s / Focal Chorus CC / Polk MC80 / Polk PSW150 sub

Bedroom - Sharp Aquos 70" 650 / Pioneer SC-1222k / Polk RT-55 / Polk CS-250

Den - Rotel RSP-1068 / Threshold CAS-2 / Boston VR-M60 / BDP-05FD
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,704
    If someone was using coax cable for speaker cable they had no idea what they were doing.
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• msg
    msg Posts: 9,306
    Go es'plore that house a bit more! It's yours now! :)
    Start by pulling that coax face plate off to see what's behind it!