Should I or Should I not?

Options
I have owned since new a set of Polk SDA 1A's, Serial no. 1920 & 1921, that I am just starting to learn about upgrading. I just joined the forum and all the information I see is several years old. I have already purchased (4) RDO-194-1 tweeters. However, in some of the information I have read where some people suggest disconnecting the Dimensional Tweeter and leave it disconnected altogether. Others never mention it. What is the best to do? I have always liked the sound the SDA-1A's have give me as they are stock but the left channel has developed a POP at high volume so I am going to start troubleshooting and doing all the upgrading at the same time. Thank you for any feedback.

Best Answers

• crashb4
    crashb4 Posts: 222
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Disconnected mine and haven't looked back. It's the right thing to do.
    Schiit Freya+, Krell KAV-250a, R-Pi network streamer, 8Tb NAS, Thorens TD-145 MKIII with Ortofon 2M red, Polk: Monitor-10B, SDA-1A, SDA-SRS
  • pkquat
    pkquat Posts: 744
    Answer ✓
    Options
    pauldsteve wrote: »
    This whole thing started because of the popping in the left channel at extreme volumes, (i.e. Explosions and Car Wrecks in Movies).

Press the passive radiator in a little bit, and watch the other midwoofers They should take 2-3 seconds to resettle. Compare the left and the right to see how long each stay out. If the left channel channel doesn't stay out as long, you likely have an air leak somewhere. Often the gaskets around the speaker frame can leak, and even the cabinet itself can leak. Some screws may need to be snugged a little, but don't really crank on them. You can strip them from the wood, or bend the frame. Also check for any cracking or tears in the surrounds, the rubber that holds the cone the the basket. It is more likely to happen to the passive. Check the spiders on the left midwoofers as well.