New Monitor 7s - now what? ideas welcome

Hi all, someone was giving away these Polk speakers for free on craigslist -- research leads me to believe they are Monitor 7s.

However, I am a complete newbie and have no clue how to configure them. I presume I need some sort of amp. I will mostly be utilizing my iphone 6 (wireless or 3.5 mm) for music. Does anyone have recommendations for how I go about configuring a set up, wiring, etc? Any specific models of amps you recommend to get the most out of my 7's?

I'm excited to configure these for my new apartment; just don't know where to start! 6gpfxf30hur5.jpg
vb1w5ay1ip5q.jpg
0b23ujiibn85.jpg

Comments

• lawdogg
    lawdogg Posts: 449
    Congratulations! Nice find. Do the woofers - the ones in the middle - move in and out freely? I'm sure you will get a plethora of suggestions on the amp etc., but your location and budget might be informative. Do you have any experience with audio, any past systems? Welcome aboard.
    <3 my 3.1TLs

I will fix your shifted magnets for free. :)
  • Great speakers!! I have the earlier 7b model and love them. Read on and enjoy.
    Yamaha RXA1030, Yamaha CD-S2100, Yamaha AS-2200, Bluesound node 2i
    Polk SDA2btl highly modded
    Polk SDA 1C modded
    Polk CS350 LS x2
    Kimber 8TC
    Sony 55" Bravia
    Wish list SVS sub

• boston1450
    boston1450 Posts: 7,438
    There are so many avenues you can go & budget & personal preferences. I will throw this out there. Try a vintage Pioneer SX~~~ model about 50+ WPC & some clean speaker wire & put em on tilt stands to get the tweeters at ear level & toe em a hair to your listening area & enjoy :) . The Polk Monitor 7's are a great speaker. Down the road CALL Polk & upgrade those tweeters to RD0-194's & they will sound better
    Randy/Maine
  • Nightfall
    Nightfall Posts: 10,042
    What's your budget? Do you need something with digital inputs, probably HDMI?
    afterburnt wrote: »