Monitor 11 Tweeter troubleshooting

Options
Hi, I'm new to Polk. Bought Monitor 4's, then went a little nuts and added a set of Monitor 11's to the collection. Need help troubleshooting them.

The 11's have Peerless tweeters that aren't putting out any sound, they were like that when I bought them (for the $60 asking price I figured something was probably wrong with them). Everything else seems fine; other drivers work, receiver works, all internal wire connections look fine, fuses on the backs of the speakers are intact. Both speakers are behaving the same way.

Multimeter reads 4 ohms resistance on the tweeters alone. Does this mean the tweeters are fine and the problem must be the wire connections or crossovers? Or could the tweeters still be the source of the problem?

I'm trying to narrow down the issue to either the tweeters or the crossovers. I only have the cash to replace one or the other right now. Any ideas for how to isolate the problem any further?

Comments

• JPete
    JPete Posts: 295
    Options
    Can you pull a tweeter from the monitor 4s or another set of speakers and wire in place of the peerless to see if you get sound? That's what I'd do first if it was me. If still no sound out of a tweeter that you know is working, they I'd think it's time to check the crossovers for damage.

Did you pull the fuses on the back and clean the fuse holders? Could be something as simple as that. I'd try new fuses for the heck of it too, even though the ones in there look good.
    Lexicon RT-10, Parasound P5, McCormack DNA 0.5, Polk SDA CRS+, SVS Sub
    Schiit Modi, Luminous Audio Axiom II, McCormack DNA-1, Digital Phase AP 2
    Marantz AV7701, Emotiva XPA-5, Paradigm 11se Mkii, DCM Time Windows, NHT 2C, SVS Sub

Spares - Kenwood C1 Pre, NAD 2200PE, Polk Monitor 10B, Polk Model 11, other odds and ends
  • JPete
    Options