FYI, SDA SRS 2 run juuuust fine on a 50 wpc Chinese tube amp

Options
2»

Comments

• mikeyb128
    mikeyb128 Posts: 2,885
    Options
    I ran no preamp for a few years, using the volume on my DAC. I then took a risk and bought a dedicated pre amp, the difference is huge, rolled some vintage tubes in there and the jump in quality is astounding. I'm a firm believer in pre amps now.

If you paid 100 for 8 Mullard tubes they are most likely re-issues. Which aren't that great, I remember trying them and liking the Chinese ones better. For me I'm loving American military tubes, they are dead quiet, reliable, super durable, and they sound great. Buy them with rubbed off silkscreen for a steal. My favs right now are RCA black plate and GE hammonds all from early sixties. Early sixties seems to be the sweet spot in tube production. But I'm still new to tubes, so be careful it's addicting!
    2 channel:
    Bryston 4B3, Bryston BDA3, Cary SLP05, Shanling CDT1000SE with parts conneXion level 2 mods, Nottingham analogue ace space 294, soundsmith Carmen MKii, Zu DL103 MKii, Ortofon MC 20 MKii, Dynavector XX2 MKii, Rogue Audio Ares, Core power technologies balanced power conditioner, Akiko Corelli power conditioner with Akiko Audio HQ power cable, Nordost heimdall 2, Frey 2, interconnects, speaker and power cables, Focal Electra 1028 BE 2, Auralic Aries Femto, Black diamond racing cones, ingress audio level 1 roller blocks, JL Audio E110 with Auralic subdude, Primacoustics room treatments.
    Theater:
    Focal Aria 926,905,CC900, SVS PB ultra x2. Pioneer Elite SC85, Oppo BDP93, Panamax M5400PM, Minix neox6, Nordost Blue heaven LS power cables.

• michaeljhsda2
    michaeljhsda2 Posts: 2,173
    Options
    mikeyb128 wrote: »
    If you paid 100 for 8 Mullard tubes they are most likely re-issues.
    bummer, they sound good though. You've peaked my curiosity...what tube designation are the RCA's and GE's?

SDA SRS 2.3TL's
    Silk Audio MS-90-BT integrated tube amp