Polk RTA 12a's or SDA CRS ?

Options
Newbie here on this forum . I wont to buy a pair of really nice Polks with really punch deep bass and sweet mids and highs . I have an opportunity to buy either a pair of RTA 12's or SDA CRS speakers with the umbilical cord in tack. I auditioned both but without doing some really long critical listening am having a tough time. I notice that of course the RTAS had really low bottom end bass and the SDA CRS seemed to have a little punchier with the ten inch passive radiator . I have a Marantz 2325 and a room size of 10 by12 . Please help as I have to make a pretty quick decision before 1 or both pair are bought off craigslist . Both pairs are selling local for 450. I thank you to all you Polkies out there for helping me.

Best Answers

• TennMan
    TennMan Posts: 1,264
    Answer ✓
    Options
    I have SDA 2Bs and CRS+. Both are great speakers. For a 10x12 room I would choose the CRS if they are the single tweeter design. They are about 1/3 the size of the 2Bs making them more practical for a small room.
    • SDA 2BTL · Sonicaps · Mills resistors · RDO-198s · New gaskets · H-nuts · Erse inductors · BH5 · Dynamat
    • Crossover upgrades by westmassguy
    • Marantz 1504 AVR (front speaker pre-outs to Adcom 555)
    • Adcom GFA-555 amp · Upgrades & speaker protection added by OldmanSRS
    • Pioneer DV-610AV DVD/CD player
    • SDA CRS+ · Hidden away in the closet
  • F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,787
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Nightfall wrote: »
    Those can also be upgraded to TL's. You'll find fans of both so it's hard to say. $300 2B's or $475 CRS though, I know I'd take the 2B's and use the extra $200 towards upgrading them to TL's.

^ THIS ^
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk