Dumping iPhone - AirPlay alternative?

ambiophonics
ambiophonics Posts: 715
edited December 2014 in Going Digital
So I'm looking at dumping my iPhone 5 and sprint and getting a new service provider and android phone. I'm tired of the iPhone's short battery life and sprint's failure to provide decent service in my area. The problem is I use AirPlay a lot. I have an Apple TV I use to stream audio to my main stereo and two airport express units in other rooms. Has anyone used any of the AirPlay apps (some involve rooting) on android and had success? It's not clear to me how easy they are to use, or if they would provide CD quality streaming (I stream with Tidal HiFi). Are there other options I should be looking at outside of the AirPlay protocol? Thanks for any advice.

2 Channel - Polk SDA-2BTL, Carver TFM-35, Peachtree iDAC, Qobuz streamed via Episode Lynk using bubble UPnP server

Comments

• tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,902
    I'm no apple expert, but I don't believe you can mix and match apple devices with android.
    HT SYSTEM-
    Sony 850c 4k
    Pioneer elite vhx 21
    Sony 4k BRP
    SVS SB-2000
    Polk Sig. 20's
    Polk FX500 surrounds

Cables-
    Acoustic zen Satori speaker cables
    Acoustic zen Matrix 2 IC's
    Wireworld eclipse 7 ic's
    Audio metallurgy ga-o digital cable

Kitchen

Sonos zp90
    Grant Fidelity tube dac
    B&k 1420
    lsi 9's
  • AsSiMiLaTeD
    AsSiMiLaTeD Posts: 11,722
    edited December 2014
    What kind of battery life are you looking for? Why not just get a current model iPhone? I have the 6 and it's never failed to make it a whole day even under heavy use, the 6 Plus is even better and can easily make it two days.

There are several alternatives to AirPlay, you've got whole systems like SONOS and then standards like Bluetooth and the new protocol from I think Dolby or DTS called PlayFi.