Digital / Computer Audio Starter Guide

2»

Comments

• drgalexo
    drgalexo Posts: 159
    edited January 2013
    Thanks doctorcilantro, I am a bit confused however, my preamp has a builtin DAC, it's a Mcintosh C50, will I get an improvement using Asio and is that a download or do I need to upgrade my computer? Sorry but I'm kind of new to the digital audio.
  • drgalexo
    edited February 2013
    Downloaded Asio4all, completely reconfigured my laptop, I had to pay $75.00 to get back all my files. I'm thinking of a dedicated music server, any suggestions? I don't need a DAC as one is built in to my preamp. I looking for something without a fan so as to not introduce any noise. Perhaps all I need is something to get music from my computer which is in another room to my preamp., maybe wireless like a sonos. Anybody have any suggestions?
    Gary
  • drgalexo
    edited February 2013
    Downloaded Asio4all, completely reconfigured my laptop, I had to pay $75.00 to get back all my files. I'm thinking of a dedicated music server, any suggestions? I don't need a DAC as one is built in to my preamp. I looking for something without a fan so as to not introduce any noise. Perhaps all I need is something to get music from my computer which is in another room to my preamp., maybe wireless like a sonos. Anybody have any suggestions?
    Gary
  • AsSiMiLaTeD
    AsSiMiLaTeD Posts: 11,722
    edited February 2014
    We've been seeing more and more questions from people wanting to get started in digital audio lately, so figured I'd bump this as a refresher.
  • Cuchulain
    Cuchulain Posts: 66
    edited February 2014
    drgalexo wrote: »
    Gary

I understand this is a year ago but since this thread has been bumped up I thought I'd throw in this piece I came across lately when looking for the same thing. This NAD M50 Digital Music Player, NAD M52 Digital Music Vault seems to be exactly what I'm looking for. A little pricey though. HDMI right to your receiver.