Advice with ms8 install

Jay23
Jay23 Posts: 10
edited January 2014 in Car Audio & Electronics
I'm doing my first ever install...so far I have a sub and the ms8 installed.. Next step is to install new front speakers .. I have a used set of polk sr 6500s I also have brand new mm6501s and used db6510... I had bought the mm's then found the sr's and DBS .I plan to run active since I have the ms8 .. So heres my question.. I have no experience with installs or tuning.. Should I practice with the db's or mm's before i put in the sr's or just go for it with the sr's ... Any advice is appreciated and what I should look out for when tuning and doing the install
Post edited by Jay23 on

Comments

• pentoncm
    pentoncm Posts: 379
    edited January 2014
    Just go ahead with the sr's. Where are the tweeters going?

Cross the sub/mids around 50-60 hz 24db/octave.
    Cross tweeters 3-4khz, 12 or 24 db/octave .

My guess is that the initial tune is going to be too bright and be a little thin. If so try cutting 2.5 to 5khz just a tad. Also play with increasing 1khz and 1.2 kHz just a little bit. Just initial suggestions but play around until you get things sounding right.
    Audison Bit Ten
    Kenwood X595
    Polk MM6501
    Polk MM1240
    Mtx 704x
    Alpine MRX50
  • Jay23
    edited January 2014
    Stock sail panels for now... Thanks for the tips .. I tried to install today but couldn't get the speaker in..need to do some cutting
  • Jay23
    edited January 2014
    Any advice on aiming the tweeter ..seems opposite side headrests are the place of choice
  • pentoncm
    edited January 2014
    You could try angling the near tweeter to the center spot between both seats, then angle the far tweeter at the driver side glass right in between the a pillar and you. A little more on axis for the near May give you better width on the left and a little more off axis on the right may sound better and avoid the highs screaming at you.
    Audison Bit Ten
    Kenwood X595