Blu-ray players and universal remotes

Beta
Beta Posts: 267
edited December 2013 in Electronics
I've been using a Sony BDP S350 for about six years now. Lately it keeps freezing up on me mid movie. I'm not sure if this is the result of Netflix DVD's being trashed, or this thing is dying on me. Any thoughts? Also, the long loading time just drives me nuts.

Anyways, my knowledge of HT is a bit limited. I use a Denon 4310CI as a processor. I have a Parasound Halo A21 driving my fronts and a Parasound Halo A31 driving my center and rears. I use Polk LCi in wall speakers.

I'm guessing I need to pick up a new Blu-ray player. My use will strictly be for movies. Not music. I have a separate 2 channel system for music.

I have been thinking about buying the Oppo 103D. However, I have no idea if the 103D is overkill since my use is for video. Any opinions or recommendations on Blu-ray players would be appreciated.

Also, I bought a Logitech universal remote for HT use about seven years ago. The darn thing has worked like a champion all this time, but it is now starting to go. I have no idea which one it is. The only thing I can remember is I bought it at Home Depot. Any opinions or recommendations on universal remotes would also be appreciated.

Thank you
Post edited by Beta on

Comments

• JuanR
    JuanR Posts: 715
    edited December 2013
    What is your budget?

Sony BDP-S790 can be had for about $200 and give an outstanding picture and you can make adjustments as well. If you want to spend more cash then go with a Pioneer Elite BDP-62FD or the 53FD (about $400) These players have the Marvell QDEO video processor for outstanding picture...or you can jump into the OPPO BDP-103 for about $500 and it also has the Marvel QDEO processor..

it's all about your budget and some differences these players offer...read about them and decide....

I own the Sony BDP-S790 and the Pioneer Elite BDP-53FD and love them both.

Juan
  • ZLTFUL
    ZLTFUL Posts: 5,640