Question about Carver Amp and Polk Lsim705

chonk
chonk Posts: 20
edited April 2013 in Electronics
Hello.

I am the proud owner of the Polk Lsim705 but need to get an amp to push them.

I have a few opportunities to purchase either a Carver TFM-15 or TFM-45.

TFM-15
  • 100 wpc
  • Able to bi-wire them using the have A and B on them

TFM-45
  • 375 wpc
  • NO A and B
  • Will bi-wire with the two channel

My questions: Is the TFM-15 strong enough to push the Lsims? By bi-wiring with the A and B channel does that equal out to 200wpc? Is the TFM-45 @375wpc too much power for them?

I'm a noob to amps so please excuse my ignorance and thank you for your help.
Post edited by chonk on

Comments

• george daniel
    george daniel Posts: 12,096
    edited April 2013
    If I had only those two to choose from,,, TFM 45 hands down.
    JC approves....he told me so. (F-1 nut)
  • chris23120
    chris23120 Posts: 95
    edited April 2013
    I agree with George.
    Samsung UN55C6500 55" LED
    Onkyo TX-NR3007
    Polk Audio RT5000
    -RT3000 front
    -CS1000 center
    -FX1000 dipole
    Polk Audio PSW1000 5.1 sub
    Polk Audio microPRO 4000 x2 5.2 subs:biggrin:
  • EndersShadow
    EndersShadow Posts: 17,517
    edited April 2013
    TFM-45. You need lots of power for quick transients in music and movies. That and the 45 is just a good amp overall.

Also bi-wiring the LSiM's is pointless so dont even worry about that option.
    "....not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted." William Bruce Cameron, Informal Sociology: A Casual Introduction to Sociological Thinking (1963)
  • pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,474
    edited April 2013
    I have one and you need one so buy it. Forget you ever heard of that TFM15
  • chonk
    edited April 2013
    Also bi-wiring the LSiM's is pointless so dont even worry about that option.

Why shouldn't I worry about bi-wiring? Should I just jump to bi-amping? Thank you for the response. :)