What 5 channel amp should I buy?

Options
mark g. nelson
mark g. nelson Posts: 134
edited February 28 in Clubhouse Archives
I have thought about adding a 5 channel amp to my system. I'm very happy with my system, but I worry about pushing my receiver to hard. With a better power supply that has some head room I think my system will be complete.

What 5 channel amps to you guys recommend. I have looked at the following:

Adcom 7500 - 150x5 8ohm, 225x5 4ohm. I have a connection that will sell me this amp for $800 new.

Outlaw Audio's new 755 - 200x5 8ohm, 300x5 4ohm. This will run me $ 1299 + s/h.

My System:

RT2000p mains
CS1000p center
RT1000i rears
PSW1200 Sub
Panasonic SuperFlat 36"
Pioneer Elite VSX-29TX
Pioneer DVL-909 DVD/LD combo
Panasonic SVHS VCR

Thank You for any help you guys might have.
Mark
Post edited by RyanC_Masimo on

Comments

• hoosier21
    hoosier21 Posts: 4,408
    edited March 2002
    Options
    First of all I have no experience with either, I can only tell you I have seen around the net.

Adcom = is slightly harsh and has/had build quality issues
    Outlaw = only good things written

Like I said all this is hear say, I have no proof.
    Dodd - Battery Preamp
    Monarchy Audio SE100 Delux - mono power amps
    Sony DVP-NS999ES - SACD player
    ADS 1230 - Polk SDA 2B
    DIY Stereo Subwoofer towers w/(4) 12 drivers each
    Crown K1 - Subwoofer amp
    Outlaw ICBM - crossover
    Beringher BFD - sub eq

Where is the remote? Where is the $%#$% remote!

"I've always been mad, I know I've been mad, like the most of us have...very hard to explain why you're mad, even if you're not mad..."
  • fabian1
    fabian1 Posts: 218
    edited March 2002
    Options
    I dont know if you have the new Yamaha rxv 2200 but its a smoothie, and has all the latest technology, check it out bang for bucks nothing beats it, Regards Fabian
    The Wonder From Downunder
  • dean/klipschead
    dean/klipschead Posts: 295
    edited March 2002
    Options