Bought new Monitor 70's - run with Yamaha HTR-5740

Options
wsnydes
wsnydes Posts: 18
edited July 2012 in Forum Testing Area
Hi, I'm a new member looking for some advice. I'm not a complete novice when it comes to these things, but I'm no expert either. I'm basically piecing together a 2 channel system that will be used mainly for listening to music. I just bought two Monitor 70's. I'm currently running them with a Yamaha HTR-5740 A/V receiver. They aren't broken in yet, but I'm already noticing that the speakers are begging for more juice. I've got the receiver configured for two channel output. It is not biampable (which I tend to believe wouldn't matter anyway with a passive crossover). What I'm looking for is some advice on how to proceed. I'd like to be economical, but not necessarily cheap either. Would I be better off replacing the receiver with something that is biampable and with a higher wpc rating (currently at 100wpc) or simply get a good appropriate amp (recommendations welcome)? Or is there something in my receiver setup that I'm missing that could improve performance?

I do not intend to make these a part of a surround system as I already have one that I run for movies and such. So expansion isn't in the equation. The receiver will likely be replaced eventually anyway if that helps.

Thanks in advance.
Post edited by wsnydes on

Comments

• Syndil
    Syndil Posts: 1,582
    edited July 2012
    Options
    Your A/V receiver doesn't have dedicated pre-amp outputs. It has recording outputs for a tape/MD recorder, but those outputs will not be volume controlled--they will be at a fixed level. So if you plan to add an amp to the receiver, you'd have no way of controlling the volume.

So your choices are to ditch the A/V receiver for a two-channel amp/pre-amp or a two-channel integrated.

I would not replace your setup with another A/V receiver just because it has higher wpc or it is bi-ampable.