Epson 705 and 106" screen setup help

dvran
dvran Posts: 280
edited September 2011 in Electronics
I just bought my Epson 705 with a 106" Dalite screen.

This is my first projector setup. Does anyone have any input on how you installed this stuff?

I'm trying to decide what to install first; the projector or the screen. The mount weights about 8-10 pounds, and with the projector, it's almost at 18 pounds, so I can't hold it up on the ceiling while trying to position to the screen. The screen is also heavier than I thought, 30 pounds.

Did some of you guys mount the projector close to where it should be (distance from screen), then mount the screen to the wall and try to line it up with the image?

Just asking because there are no instructions on how the two pieces (screen and projector) should be set up.

Thanks!
~Dan

Projector: Epson 705HD on 106" DaLite
TV: Samsung 50" Plasma PN50B550
Receiver: Onkyo 607
Fronts: Polk 1000i
Center: Polk Csi40
Rears: Polk Fxi30
Sub: Velodyne Minivee 10
PS3 and Xbox
Post edited by dvran on

Comments

• dave shepard
    dave shepard Posts: 1,334
    edited September 2011
    Position the screen first. You have to know exactly where you want to look at the image before you worry about where you have to place the projector. Then find a stud to mount the projector to in the area that gives the best image not at it's furthest point (color/pic wash can be an issue) and not at it's closest (you may want to increase the screen size someday :wink:). If you are not sure of the distance place the projector on a stand/table and turn it on and when you find the distance that is where you will want it, mount it. Epsons are easy to adjust (or the ones I have done, 1080's and 1080HD's)

Good luck,
    Dave
  • mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,031
    edited September 2011