Need some help with installing subs

cult4d5
cult4d5 Posts: 7
edited September 2011 in Car Subwoofer Talk
Off the bat, just so yall know, I'm a noob to the site but not subs or audio in general.

I have a 95 bmw 525i. I already re-upholstered the back dash and fit some new 5.25's and some 6x9's in boxes. I had a dual 10" box with 2 memphis 15-pr10d dvc subs running off of the kenwood kac-9105d 1800w amp. They sounded good and clear but I knew that even though the ski hole was open that the trunk was absorbing a lot of the kick. Now my plan is to get a 3rd sub and install one in the middle of the back dash and the other two subs IN the back seats. Not with the face of the subs in between the seat and the body of the car with the magnet sticking out into the trunk. But actually so that the subs sink into the back part of the rear seats and are visible.

My question is that I'm pretty sure the magnet is going to have to protrude into the trunk a little bit which is fine. I dont mind the fabrication. I welcome it! So am I going to need to enclose the sub from the rest of the trunk or will it be fine being actually going through the seats and the seat/body behind the seats forming an enclosure? same with the dash sub.

Thanks, sounds a little confusing so just ask and ill clarify
Post edited by cult4d5 on

Comments

• kawizx9r
    kawizx9r Posts: 5,150
    edited September 2011
    Seems like you want to run free-air subs right?

Only if the sub calls for such an application would I go ahead with it.

Why the 3rd sub btw? Going to use it as a mid-bass driver? What are your goals here, SPL?
    Truck setup
    Alpine 9856
    Phoenix Gold RSD65CS

For Sale
    Polk SR6500
    Polk SR5250
    Polk SR104

heiney9 wrote: »
    Any clue how to use the internet? Found it in about 10 sec.
  • 20hz
    20hz Posts: 636
    edited September 2011
    cult4d5 wrote: »