Cats vs Speakers???????

Jesse22
Jesse22 Posts: 60
edited February 2011 in Speakers
I am new to Club Polk and building a moderate 5.1 home theater setup (my first). Here is my dilemma, I have researched lots of things on this forum but found nothing about speakers sharing space with cats.... I was really hoping to get some Monitor 70s series II but in 6 months I will be moving in with my girlfriend who owns 2 cats. I am thinking her cats love to destroy things and I have read cats like to scratch speaker covers. How do they feel if the covers are off though are they going to shred a speaker cone? So my options are buy some Monitor 70s and hope for the best while stressing out the cats are going to destroy them while I am away or get some Monitor 40s and throw them on speaker stands and pretend I am happy. The other thing there is will they try and get on top of the 40s and knock them over and how do they feel about speaker wire?
If anyone has experience with this please help me out!!!!! Thanks!
Polk CS1 Series II
Monitor 30s
Monitor 40s Series II
Klipsch RW-12D
Onkyo TX-SR308
Samsung 46" LED-LCD
Samsung BD-C5500 (Don't Recommend)
Post edited by Jesse22 on

Comments

• Upstatemax
    Upstatemax Posts: 2,623
    edited January 2011
    Get the monitor 70's and a spray bottle... everytime they so much as look at them, spray them.... they will quickly learn they are off limits.

My monitor 70's survived several years with two German shepherd puppies... they may not claw at speakers, but they are 85lb wreaking balls that love to run all around the house...
  • gsxr141
    gsxr141 Posts: 143
    edited January 2011
    cats definitely like speaker covers, lol. they will also scratch the drivers on occasion. i just had the surround repaired on one of my rt10's. :(
    50" samsung dlp
    receiver... pioneer elite vsx72txv
    front... polk tsi400's
    rear surrounds... polk tsi100's
    center... polk csi3
    subs... psw150..... 2 of them.
    surrounds.....polk owm3's