Advice on sub choice DB or MM 8"

809peter
809peter Posts: 16
edited March 2010 in Car Subwoofer Talk
Hello, I'm new here and searching the forum for a couple of days without finding an answer to my question. So here it is:

I'm heaving trouble deciding which sub to buy.
I've got a lot of experience with various brands like RF, alpine, JBL, Kenwood, Clarion.

My current setup is:

Head Unit:
Kenwood KDC-W808 (5v preout)
4ch amp:
Kenwood KAC-8401 (4x60W@4ohm)
D-Class amp:
Kenwood KAC-8151D (1x400W@2ohm)
Front speakers:
Macrom SE2.60 2way (6 1/4")
Rear speakers:
4x Macrom 59.10 midrange (4")

In "storage":
2x 12" Kenwood KFC-W3009
1x 12" Rockfort Fosgate RFR2212 DVC (too much is not good for me!!!)

Recently I bought myself another car. A Swift '94. And it's small. Real small.
So the problem is, I heaven't got enough space in my trunk. And I really need to leave some useable space there. I don't want to use any of the subs I have.
I tried to use my RFR2212 but I always end up with a terrible headache. Even when I don't listen at high volumes. It's just an SPL sub, and I really want SQ!!!
The Kenwood sub doesn't sound right in a small sealed enclosure (0.85 cu ft). Both of these subs only play well at higher volumes. But most of the time I want to listen at lower levels.

Here's what I made up:
I want to order a Polk 8". Just one! And place it in a sealed enclosure. My Kenwood KAC-8151D (1x400W@2ohm) is a bit heavy but there's a good stable signal from the HU. And with the input sensitivity at 5v (minimal gain) I think the Polk 8" will play just fine. I know fore sure my amp runs best at 2ohms.

So which Polk 8" to choose: the db840dvc or the mm840dvc.
In the Netherland these subs are relatively expensive and I've got a small budget.
db840dvc sells at €89,- and de mm840dvc sells at €139,-.

My first choice would be the MM, but I noticed that a ported enclosure is not recommended. That could be a problem when I want to switch enclosures in the future.