Cable comparison data

BlueFox
BlueFox Posts: 15,251
edited February 2010 in 2 Channel Audio
One thing I have found missing from all the speaker cable threads is data. Generally, there is some from those who feel cables do matter, but little from the other side. The positive data is usually from a personal experience. While this data is subjective, it still is valid. Personal experience can reflect measurements, especially if you know what to measure.

Being an engineer, I like data about a subject. I am also open-minded, so that data can take any reasonable form, as long as it is verifiable. For this subject, personal experience is the preferred data.

On one hand, I do not care what someone listens to, or what equipment they use. On the other hand, I do care when someone tries to tell me I am wrong in some personal activity, and their reason is they read it somewhere. And that is the impression I am getting from the “cables make no difference” crowd. They read it somewhere. Fine, there is nothing wrong with reading. That is how I usually learn something. I read about it, think about it, and if it seems reasonable try it.

What I am looking for with this thread is for those who feel speaker cables make no difference tell to us what cables they tried, the electronics used, any other thoughts they had while comparing the cables.

So, in the interest of science, tell us the cables used to reach the conclusion, “Cables make no difference”. Nothing more, nothing less. Just some data about what speaker cables were compared that resulted in the conclusion cables make no difference.
Lumin X1 file player, Westminster Labs interconnect cable
Sony XA-5400ES SACD; Pass XP-22 pre; X600.5 amps
Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers; SPOD spikes

Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR on source, Denali 2000 (2) on amps
Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables