Polk MMC6500 Crossover/EQ Questions

Options
Hierge
Hierge Posts: 5
edited April 2010 in Car Audio & Electronics
(I posted this in a different forum and it is more appropriately posted here. Mea Culpa. )

System:

Alpine CDA-9835 Head Unit
Soundstream Van Gogh 4 X 125 watt Amp
2 Infinity 200 watt sub systems
2 sets Polk MMC6500 Momo component speakers

Car:

2003 Mustang GT convertible / Had the Mach system previously so tweets are by the front left and right mirrors. Mids are by the ankles in the doors. I had everything professionally installed by Tweeter and I have zero knowledge how they set this system up with crossover settings etc. Rear Momos are right behind the seats in a component setup. Subs are in the trunk on each side.

This car has been sitting in suspended animation parked for four years and I never got the system completely set up on the Alpine side. I have a couple questions and observations on which I sincerely hope to get some feedback. Thank you in advance!

1. The speakers sound fantastic, but the equalization is proving troublesome due to too many parameters and my limited brain. I have the choice on the Alpine to configure an "active crossover" using their online system to do this graphically then download the settings to the head unit. This setting allows me to set up a 3 way or a 2 way crossover on a grid pattern (X Y Axis) with crossover frequency on the X axis and -db on the Y Axis. I can manually set the subs from 50 to 120. My questions are as follows: