Wiring Help for SR5250

Options
v_audi
v_audi Posts: 6
edited March 2010 in Car Audio & Electronics
I am very new to car audio and have tried to read up on wiring options for the SR5250 but I am still a little confused. I have a pair of SR5250s in the front stage and I am going to power them with a Kenwood KAC-X40, rated at 4x70 rms. Would it be better to bi-amp these speakers, using a separate channel for each mid and tweet, or will that be too much power? I will be using the passive crossover for now. Thanks in advance.
Post edited by v_audi on

Comments

• jay27
    jay27 Posts: 105
    edited March 2010
    Options
    70 watts would not be too much. I think most people on here are using more power than that. I ran as much as 150 watts to each tweeter and driver with an active crossover and the speakers were fine. (Oddly enough, I blew my SR tweeters when running them passively).
  • Installer4life
    Installer4life Posts: 256
    edited March 2010
    Options
    Since you are new to car audio I would run the SR5250's with a nice two channel amp and use the existing crossovers. The crossovers will do some additional processing that will help you dial in the sound you are looking for. If you do have to run the 4 channel kenwood amp then I would just run it bridged into two channels. Biamp is available with the Kenwood and using the crossovers that come with the components but That will open you up to additional settings with regard to level control. Unless you are willing to spent hours tunning just for a little extra then make your life easier and go with a two channel amp and use the single input on the crossovers. The sound will still be amazing.
  • v_audi
    v_audi Posts: 6
    edited March 2010
    Options