Hooking up amp and sub to stock 09 GTI HU

Options
09GTIGuy
09GTIGuy Posts: 11
edited March 2010 in Car Audio & Electronics
First time posting here , not sure how to start this new post so here I am.

I was wondering if anyone could help me out with hooking up an amp and sub (with box) to a 2009 vw gti stock system. I already have a sub enclosure (or sub box) that my brother gave to me so any advise on what kind of speaker and amp to buy would be great . I want to just get a little bit more out of my current system and I was wondering if there was a way to do this without re-wiring and adding an after market system. Meaning I would like to keep my stock speakers , HU , and satilite radio and just add my sub box and amp. Im also a complete noob so anyone that is willing to help its greatly appritiated if you give me detailed information.

Thanks , SL
Post edited by 09GTIGuy on

Comments

• 09GTIGuy
    edited March 2010
    Options
  • arun1963
    arun1963 Posts: 1,797
    edited March 2010
    Options
    A sub will overpower your speakers running off your stock hu. Get a pair of components, a 4ch amp and then power the comps and your sub.

Cody is the install expert here.
  • 09GTIGuy
    edited March 2010
    Options
    Combs X) ? Cody I wonder how I would get in touch with Cody , I was thinking of heading over to a local car audio shop near my house but Im afraid of being held over the coals. I have a very limited budget and no experiance but I would like to do this myself . Wonder if Cody could help , sounds like it :). thanks
  • 09GTIGuy
    edited March 2010
    Options
    It looks to be 10" Dskip , any suggestions on what speaker to place in there? Im really only looking to add some thump to my current system . And is there anyway to amp my current speakers ?
  • 09GTIGuy
    edited March 2010
    Options