Total Newbie!!

jsnyder
jsnyder Posts: 9
edited February 2010 in Car Audio & Electronics
Alright, here is the deal. I have an old '79 Chevy pickup. After deciding that the k-mart radio and 2 inch speakers were not enough for me, i thought, hey i'll buy some speakers, that will make it all better. NOT. so i bought a set of 6x9 dual (I know, i know, not the best choice, but i think they will do the job. they are 150 watt.) speakers and boxes to put them in. when i got home and started to install them i realized what a mess the back of the radio was. most wires where rotten, there was no wire harness, only a ground, hot, and right and left wires. just loose, no connections. so i put my speakers in and rewired. after this i hooked them up, and cranked it, hoping for a better sound. what i got was something about as powerfull as my laptop speakers.
What i need to know what i should do about the wire harness predicament, and also if amping the speakers would do anything for me. I plan to buy a new deck. at the moment i am planning on buying a jvc.
I just want a good sound. i dont want something that will blow my neighbors away.
Like i said i am a complete newbie at the whole car audio thing. i am pretty farmiliar with car wiring and basic stuff, but this is not my thing.
Please help, anything would be of assistance. thanks.
Post edited by jsnyder on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited January 2010
    Your head unit doesnt have enough power for those speakers so they sound like laptop speakers. Getting a real, aftermarket head unit will help tremendously.

If those wires are rotten then youd be doing yourself a huge favor by spending a few hours one Saturday and rewireing the whole thing. Shouldnt be hard since its only got 3 wires (ground, hot, ignition) and the speaker wires. Run down to Radio Shack and buy some wire and fix that mess.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005