Newbie with set of lsi 7 speakers need help with amp.

Art F.
Art F. Posts: 4
edited January 2010 in Speakers
Sorry folks I'm new to high fidelity. I have a new set of polk lsi 7 speakers. I have a sherwood receiver ( 105 watts per channel) I never had seperate amps or a pre amp. People tell me to get the best sound from these speakers, I should be using a seperate amp. I really do not know anything about these. I would appreciate any help or suggestions from all you who understand. THANK YOU...Art

Comments

• Erik Tracy
    Erik Tracy Posts: 4,673
    edited January 2010
    Art F. wrote: »
    Sorry folks I'm new to high fidelity. I have a new set of polk lsi 7 speakers. I have a sherwood receiver ( 105 watts per channel) I never had seperate amps or a pre amp. People tell me to get the best sound from these speakers, I should be using a seperate amp. I really do not know anything about these. I would appreciate any help or suggestions from all you who understand. THANK YOU...Art

Art,
    Welcome to the Polk Forums!

Here you will find lots of good advice about Polk speakers and setups.

I'd recommend small incremental steps and lots of 'hands on' listening tempered with all the info you can get here.

Start with what you have now and listen to what you hear and what your expectations are.

Are you happy or disappointed?

Or, are you simply wanting something based on what you read on an internet forum?

It's all about starting with what you have, educating yourself, and deciding if you need to move to something different (or higher).

Tell us what you are hearing - do you like what you hear, or not?

The LSi7s are reputedly the easiest to drive of that series. I had a pair myself.

Depending on musical preferences and listening habits, the LSi7s are a very nice set. Given some basic power requisites they can 'wake up' and pump out some very clean and ear grinning sonic pleasure.

What do you hear?