Rotel vs Parasound

Options
mopar paul
mopar paul Posts: 277
edited January 2010 in 2 Channel Audio
I would like to preface this review by stating I'm no expert. I have played music (from the flute to the drums) and been to hundreds of live concerts, ranging from classical to Slipknot, for 20 years.
I remember getting into HiFi when I was a late teenager, and now at the scary age of 37, I love it more than ever. I've never had deep pockets and always moved up the audio chain slowly, but lately I have had the desire to invest a little in a new 2 channel system, minus speakers of course. I have some fully modded SDA SRS 1.2TL's that I have CONFIRMED, sound better than 90% of new speakers on the market under $8k, but that's a story in itself.
I recently went looking for a new CD player, Pre-amp and Amp. Unfortunately in my neck of the woods, it has been difficult to find anyone who carries higher end 2 channel stuff. So I drove a few hours and after doing much research and shopping, decided my choices (dictated by budget) would be between the new Rotel 15 series and the Parasound Halo line.
I went to 2 dealers which were more than great and went out of their way to help me, allowing me to take the components home to audition them with my speakers and room, then make a decision on which ones I wanted.
I specifically brought home a Parasound A21 Amp (250x2) and P3 preamp, and a Rotel 1550 Pre and 1582 Amp (200x2). I wont get into other associated equiptment at this point, as I will also be doing a review of some various Cd players later.
After extended listening to quite a few different material I found the Rotel stuff to have lots of detail and a good soundstage, but slightly lacking in depth on softer bass notes. I also found it to be quite bright with my setup, almost to the point of being un-listenable at louder volumes. I will say that this setup did not sound this bright in the store on another pair of speakers, all else being equal.