Turntable Plunge

Options
dcarlson
dcarlson Posts: 1,740
edited May 2003 in 2 Channel Audio
I'm getting very close to buying a turntable. I want to start with something cheap and save up for a Rega P3 later this year. I'm wondering how the older Thorens turntables stack up. There's a few on Ebay that I'm thinking about bidding on TD-145, TD-160, TD-165. Any ideas on these models? Are they worth buying? I'm pretty new when it comes to turntables so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Derick.
SDA-2a, Anthem Pre-2L, Anthem Amp 1, MF A324 DAC, Rotel RCD1070

Senn HD650 Cardas, Mapletree Audio Ear+ HD2, Kimber KS1030, Bel Canto DAC2, M-Audio Transit, Laptop.
Post edited by dcarlson on

Comments

• RuSsMaN
    RuSsMaN Posts: 17,987
    edited April 2003
    Options
    I have limited experience with Thorens tables, they are a nice table, but what worries me more is you having one shipped to you.

I'd check you local options first, then budget tables that can be shipped from a dealer. CD players and TT's are TWO things I will not have shipped to me, unless I know the seller. Too fragile, too many things that need to stay 'aligned'.

Cheers,
    Russ
    Check your lips at the door woman. Shake your hips like battleships. Yeah, all the white girls trip when I sing at Sunday service.
  • dcarlson
    edited April 2003
    Options
    I'm worried about shipping too but for $100-$150 I can get a vintage TT and hope for the best. There's not much in my city in regards to vinyl or turtables. I made the rounds to local hock shops with no results. Locally is out of the question unless I go new.

Derick.

Senn HD650 Cardas, Mapletree Audio Ear+ HD2, Kimber KS1030, Bel Canto DAC2, M-Audio Transit, Laptop.
  • Wade Spradley
    Wade Spradley Posts: 81
    edited April 2003
    Options