2.3 vs 2.3TL

Options
Big Dan R
Big Dan R Posts: 131
edited April 2003 in Speakers
Im new at this so bare with me...
Im trying to gather info - opinions on whether to buy the 2.3's or the 2.3TL's. I have the SDA 2A's, love them but want to upgrade and have a chance to buy a mint pair of the 2.3's for $1,000.00. I listened to them recently and loved them but not sure if waiting to find TL's is worth it. Comments?
Thanks,
Dan
Post edited by Big Dan R on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,806
    edited April 2003
    Options
    Big Dan,

Welcome to the forum.

The major difference is the tweeters, the 2.3 uses the SL2000 and the TL uses the SL3000. There was a peak in the SL2000 that the SL3000 corrected. I find the SL3000 to be smoother/less bright, but those are my ears. Are you planning on using the 2A's in the same room as the 2.3's or TL's? What kind of power are you planning to drive them with?

F1
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• Big Dan R
    edited April 2003
    Options
    Thanks F1,
    My 2A's also have the SL 2000 tweeters and I can hear some brightness. I plan to give these to my son, different room. I am deciding whether to buy a pair of the 2.3's for &1000.00. I have a Yamaha RX 1100U receiver rated at 125 per chan but if necessary would buy more power.
    Thanks,
    Dan
  • F1nut
    edited April 2003
    Options
    Dan,