Always wondering...

philly420
philly420 Posts: 13
edited March 2003 in Car Audio & Electronics
I have read over the forums for quite some time now and not once anywhere have I read about some-one using 8" subs... is that because they are no good or is it because everyone thinks bigger is better. OR is bigger better? I am working with a small built car, that doesn't have alot of room. I was just wondering if 8's can do the same job that 10's and 12's can...? Or would using 8's be a waste of time all together?

Thank you for any input

P.S. As you can probably guess, I'm a newbie...:(
Post edited by philly420 on

Comments

• Jstas
    Jstas Posts: 14,804
    edited March 2003
    You need to go back and read again because I used 2, 8 inch Kenwood subs in a mini/compact truck install of my own.

They are fine for small compartments but in larger vehicles, they do not have the displacement abilities to adequatly fill the passenger compatment with sound. That creates the problem of reduced low-end extension and makes the subwoofer very localized in the overall sound stage of the stereo in the vehicle. Most times you will see a setereo using dual 8 inch subs to reduce that affact. Unless the sub is in a bandpass box and then it doesn't need 2 drivers because the noise comes from the port and not the speaker.
    Expert Moron Extraordinaire

You're just jealous 'cause the voices don't talk to you!
  • PoweredByDodge
    PoweredByDodge Posts: 4,185
    edited March 2003
    if you're rollin in something small with the cabin room of like a 1980's corvette or a fiero or something little.... two 8's (if they're good quality 250 - 300 wrms 8's) will slam like a mother f#####.

8's are also good when you are not really looking for a low low bass note -- accurate from about 40 hertz up, most will do an ok job in even medium sized cars as long as you're not looking for "really really loud" or anything resembling "thunder".
    The Artist formerly known as PoweredByDodge