help with sound problem

brabbit17
brabbit17 Posts: 6
edited July 2009 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hello all, after reading this forum for a long time, I finally joined. I need some help with a problem. I am new to car audio so if the answer to this question is simple, please bear with me.
I have a 99 toyota 4runner that had the stock stereo and speakers. I have never hated the sound from it, in fact I always thought it sounded good for a stock system. I decided to upgrade the stereo and the speakers. After many hours of reading, I bought a jvc avx820 stereo and polk db6501 components as I plan on getting a sub at some point. After hooking up everything, I am very disappointed with the quality of the sound that I am getting. The treble is very harsh and even distorted on certain songs. I have no idea what could be causing this and am almost ready to give up. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Brad
Post edited by brabbit17 on

Comments

• zarrdoss
    zarrdoss Posts: 2,562
    edited July 2009
    have you messed with the eq or bass and treble?
  • brabbit17
    edited July 2009
    no, i dont like to use the eq settings as my recordings are of good quality. it almost sounds like the tweeters are blown out, but theyre brand new
  • zarrdoss
    edited July 2009
    Sometimes its not the quality of your recordings, just the acoustics of your cars interior to overcome. Stock systems are kind of engineered for that particular vehicle, you might give it a try, If no luck then I wold check your connections and settings.
  • brabbit17
    edited July 2009
    ok, new test results.