DIY DAC for a total newbie? aka - calling GV

Options
ShinAce
ShinAce Posts: 1,194
edited February 2009 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
Ok, so RJaco built a beautiful set of monitors for his son...lucky kid. ****, I had to build my own freakin set of monitors for myself(parts and box weren't nearly as nice) when I was 14. Anywho. Both of us are using the analog output on our PCs for sound.

Then it hit me like a brick to the temple. I swapped the motherboard on my PC 2 months ago with one a buddy tossed my way. It has SPDIF in and out. I'm only looking at the SPDIF out.

RJaco has better skills at building stuff. And better access to wood. However, I got mads digital skills having done some simple digital circuits. I'm also a line level audio king, dabbling in pre-amps and headphone amps.

I won't have the required chips on hand, but I have most of the rest. I'm a big fan of the NE5532 for an opamp, but who really cares.

Is there an easy and cheap DAC that I can build? Is there a cheap DAC that people know of? I could always look for a common and good one online.

What do I need to know before using the digital out? Where do I find some good info on using the digital output. Mine is RCA and I even have my first FLAC album on the computer.

One last question. Can I build a digital crossover? How is the digital signal encoded is what I'm asking to figure this one out.
Post edited by ShinAce on

Comments

• Systems
    Systems Posts: 14,873
    edited February 2009
    Options