2 channel amp or mono amp for subs????

highwaystud
highwaystud Posts: 2
edited December 2008 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hi there....I am quite new to car systems and defi new to this board....Recently my big B gave me a human reign 2 channel amp which he purchased it a few years back.....What I need to know is that do I really need another mono amp for subs, does a mono amp really make that much of a diff when it comes to subs?????cuz I feel they are just 2 expensive.....Me big B claims that the amp which he gave me is good enough to do the trick for a layman like me......

thanks,
Karan
Post edited by highwaystud on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited December 2008
    If youre only going to be running a single subwoofer with a single voice coil then the 2 channel amp will work just fine. Mono amps arent any better or worse for subs, its just a matter of matching up wiring configurations. Mono amps can run down to 2 ohms mono and some at 1 ohm mono which virtually all 2 channel amps cannot. So if youre running a pair of sub youd want the mono amp.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
    08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D
  • highwaystud
    highwaystud Posts: 2
    edited December 2008
    Hey macleod thanx for the early tip.....Ummm apparently I would prefer to stick to one sub to keep things within the budget....the manual on the companys website says something like

output power: @ 4 ohms = 450*2
    @ 2 ohms = 800*2
    Bridged: @ 4 ohms = 1600*1