Noob - Start with Amp or Speakers?

jabrax
jabrax Posts: 315
edited September 2008 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hi, I am a total novice when it comes to car audio.
My father is unhappy with the sound coming from his cars audio system. He chose the get the standard stereo when he purchased the car a few months ago. Chevy's that look similar to pt crusier.

Anyway, the sound is kind of flat with the 6 speaker system (no sub) 2 tweets in the dash, 2 speakers in the front and rear doors. The system has bass, but the clarity and strength (for lack of a better word) of the mids and highs are kind of weak (flat and muffled). The two front door speakers dominate the sound stage.

He was to get it to sound better without breaking the bank. Not looking for a monster system that rattles the windows and can be heard from a block away, but desperately once a cleaner and stronger sound from the system.

Should we start with putting in a new amp or speakers first?

thx Jeff
TV...............Hitachi 42hdS52a plasma (sexy one with the swival)
Pre/Processor - Emotiva MMC
Seven Ch AMP - Emotiva LPA
Fronts - Tyler Acoustics 7U's
Center - Polk LSIC
Sub - DSWPRO600
DAC - Music Hall 25.3CD - Marantz cc4001
Blue Ray - PS3
Speaker cables - Audioquest cv4 dbs
Interconnects - MIT AVT1's
Power Filter....Monster HTS 3500 MKII
Post edited by jabrax on

Comments

• exalted512
    exalted512 Posts: 10,735
    edited September 2008
    Are you opposed to getting an aftermarket radio?

Why do you think the two front speakers dominating the sound stage is a bad thing?
    -Cody
    Music is like candy, you have to get rid of the rappers to enjoy it
  • MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited September 2008
    The soundstage SHOULD be coming from in front of you. Whens the last time you went to a concert and the band was BEHIND you? When you listen to music at home, do yo not sit in front of your speakers?? ;)