Dual Polk/momo c300.2 driving sr6500 set?

biggs
biggs Posts: 16
edited July 2008 in Car Audio & Electronics
Ok, tried to search for something like this but couldn't find any.

So I have a c300.2, and sr6500 on the way. Also I have a c500.1 for my 10" MTX 7500 DVC sub.

Now, I can get another brand new c300.2 for $200 from a friend.
I'm a bit of a newbie on stereo in general, so I need some input here.
Can I run each channel on a bridged c300.2?
I read a bit on bi-amping (read, not quite understood), would that be a better idea?

Input would be much appreciated.
Post edited by biggs on

Comments

• biggs
    edited July 2008
    Oh, my HU is an AVIC-HD3BT
  • black magic
    black magic Posts: 669
    edited July 2008
    Honestly, I think you should just use a single c300.2 for your sr components unless you want to go active. If you'd like to bi-amp using 2 c300.2, i suppose that would also work, but thats gonna be a ton of power so you'll have to be careful not to have the gains set too high.
  • biggs
    edited July 2008
    The crossovers are "bi-amp ready", no? So one c300.2 for the woofers and one for the tweeters, then via the crossovers. Set the HU at 3/4 volume and the gains on the amps to minimum, then work from there? Adjust gains on the woofers first, then balance up with the tweeter gains. Could be an idea to get som sr5250's eventually on the other c300 to even it out, ie give the mids their own frequency range?
  • MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited July 2008
    Yes you can bi-amp those SR's with a pair of 300.2's but that is a TON of power and you could shred your speakers in a heartbeat and so I wouldnt recommend it to a newbie.

Generally, bi-amping your speakers is the best way to do it because you can independently tune your tweeters and your mids but if youre a rookie and/or wanting a "plug and play" setup, then stick with the single amp. A single 300.2 has more than enough grunt to push a set of SR's to their full potential.