sorry for the length, but looking for input on troubles

Options
nyydmb12
nyydmb12 Posts: 10
edited July 2008 in Car Subwoofer Talk
My new setup the first I did all on my own came together pretty good aside from some minor annoying things.
So I have 2 12in polk momos 2124 each getting 400 watts(their RMS rating) However I built the boxes out of 3/4in ply wood. They aren't hitting as hard as I would like, and sometimes sounds like something is resonating (possibly the wood?) Also at first I didn't realize the wire I had bought was Hook up wire which is one wire instead of two(+,-), and it lacked other things speaker wire have(100% oxygen free and so forth) However it's my first build I was excited and pushed forward and was forced to do some patch work on the boxes (I thought they came out pretty good though).
So the questions.
1) could the wood be resonating.
2) could the hook up wire from the speaker terminal to the sub be wasting some power
3) Is it likely the seal isn't as good as I thought and losing some of the hit(sealed up most spaces with wood glue and saw dust, and occasionally liquid nails, also used silicon caulk where all pieces meet on the inside.

4) Finally Has anyone else Had a hell of a time trying to find a bit to fit the screws the sub's come with....I'm in a predicament taking the subs out be cause the screws wore down my bits that kind of fit.
Fronts- Polk Momo MMC 690 6"x9" 3-way Speakers
Rears JL audio 690TXI
4ch amp- alpine F-250 giving 40 watts each awaiting to be bridged to my polks for 100 watts a peice
mono amp- alpine F850 400 watts to two subs
subs 2 12in polk momo's 2124 single voice coil hooked up in 2 ohms in sealed box
Post edited by nyydmb12 on

Comments

• robsatx
    robsatx Posts: 5
    edited July 2008
    Options
    nyydmb12 wrote: »
    My new setup the first I did all on my own came together pretty good aside from some minor annoying things.