My SR6500 finally arrived, im happy

Kinetic
Kinetic Posts: 437
edited July 2008 in Car Audio & Electronics
guys thanks a lot for all the comments, i recently recived my SR6500 on the mail today.

at first glance they look awesome, i connect the pair to my amp, and sounds beutiful.

i will install them on saturday, but two more questions...

Is it better to install them ON-Axis, or OFF-Axis, i used to have the DB tweets OFF-Axis near the winshield, on the OEM location, and i feel its better... (but im no expert)

And im using "12 gauge knukonceptz Karma" speaker cable, from the AMP to the Crossover.
Can I use a 16 Gauge from the Crossover to the Driver? Im using 65 RMS per driver bi-amped (its easier to install on my doors)..
Z
/////Alpine CDA-9887 HU
/////Alpine KTX-1000EQ
/////Alpine PDX-4.150
/////Alpine PDX-1.1000
Polk Audio SR 6500
Polk Audio SR 124 DVC
KnuKonceptz MKS Kable

G35
/////Alpine CDA-9887 HU
/////Alpine KTX-1000EQ
/////Alpine PDX-4.150
/////Alpine PDX-1.1000
/////Alpine SPX 17PRO
/////Alpine SWX 1243D
KnuKonceptz MKS Kable
Post edited by Kinetic on

Comments

• candaddy
    candaddy Posts: 54
    edited June 2008
    16 gauge should be sufficient.

Aim the speakers however they sound best to you. My standard starting point is to aim the opposite side speaker directly at your eyes and the near side speaker directly at the passenger's eyes. That way the far side speaker is playing directly on-axis to you and the near side is somewhat off-axis. Because off-axis response is usually lower in volume than on-axis response, this helps make the near side speaker not seem as near (both speakers sound more so as if they were the same distance from you).
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited June 2008
    x2^^ Start with that. Use velcro or maybe some kind of putty for temporary placement. Where are your mids? In the OE location?
  • Kinetic
    edited June 2008
    yep

mids at the doors and the tweet in the dashboard near the windshield