Q for killerb and other kenwood HU owners

umaronly
umaronly Posts: 13
edited May 2008 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hi
How does the x991 sq compare to the following hu? I am not good at sq tuning and use my pioneer 880prs with its auto ta and eq feature to enjoy my sound. Does the kenwood have this ability? of auto ta and eq etc? how would you compare? I need help in deciding on a HU for my new car, and am leaning towards the following:

1. Kenwood x991
2. Pioneer 880prs (own already)
3. Alpine 9887
4. Nakamichi cd700II/cd500

Take care
Post edited by umaronly on

Comments

• killerb
    killerb Posts: 390
    edited May 2008
    the x-991 doesnt have the auto tune, but i like to tune mine with an rta and my ear. i have been into car stereo for over twenty years and i just love the excelon h.u. its the best sounding unit i ever heard imho. you cant go wrong with any of the four you posted.
    kenwood excelon kdc-x991 h.u.
    Rockford Fosgate 360.3 DSP
    Rockford Fosgate POWER1000 running entire system
    Image Dynamics IDQ12 Sub
    Morel Elate 6 front stage
  • umaronly
    edited May 2008
    Can u explain how you tune it by rta? what is an rta btw? I am looking to buy the kenwood because of its nautrality (I hear alpine and pioneer colour the sound somewhat even at flat eq) and I am looking for the best possible sq...so what do you recommend and how for this hu...any pointers on how I can tune it myself accurately?
  • killerb
    edited May 2008