RDO198's ?

Options
Neskahi
Neskahi Posts: 297
edited April 2008 in Vintage Speakers
A question to those of you that have swapped from SL3000's to RDO198's.
Was there an improvement and would you do it again? To me, the 3000's sound
pretty good. But I'm still learning. I have upgraded 2000's to 194's and do
agree with most that it's a huge improvement. It's a $300.00 question.
The speakers I'm considering these for are 2.3TL's.
SDA 2.3/RDO's... xovers by Ben
SDA 2.3TL/Stock..
SDA 1C/Solens/RDO's [gave to my Uncle]
SDA 2B RDO's
Snell Type CV
SDA 1.2TL's
GFA7700 Adcom
GFP750 Adcom
TFM55X Carver
M90 Pioneer/C90 Pre
M91 x 2 Pioneers/C91 Pre
Yaqin MC10l
DCD-1520/1560/2560 Denon
Marantz DVD-8400
Carver m1.5T
DV-79avi Pioneer
TFM35X x 2
Post edited by Neskahi on

Comments

• stubby
    stubby Posts: 723
    edited April 2008
    Options
    Yes, there is a substantial improvement. The silkies tamed what I thought was a slightly bright SL3000. By taming the top side, the midrange really sounds more fluid. Strings sound gorgeous. Brass instruments are crisp without bite. Like you said though, it's a $300 question.

Stubby
    SRS 3.1TL
    Harman Kardon Citation 5.1
    Anthem AVM2

• Mike Reeter
    Mike Reeter Posts: 4,314
    edited April 2008
    Options
    I made the switch...like yourself,I had swapped out SL2000's on other SDA's and was very pleased...so,I elected to change out the 3000's also.

Not as much as a dramitic difference as the 194's...but a definate improvement over the 3000's.

And yes,I would do it again.
  • heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,094
    edited April 2008
    Options
    Wait for Carl to chime in...................it'll only be a matter of time.

The difference isn't as dramatic with the 198's as it is with the 194's simply because right out of the box the sl3000 was a better tweeter than the sl2000. But the 198's are still a pretty nice improvement and worth the investment. Be sure to allow for ample break in.