Box designing software

Jstas
Jstas Posts: 14,804
edited April 2008 in Car Audio & Electronics
Anybody got a piece of software that they use for designing boxes? I recently borrowed Eminence's Eminence Designer software from a friend to test out but it seems heavily reliant on T/S Parameters. If you don't have them all, results can suffer. That's a drag because no manufacturer publishes a full list. Especially if they are a company like Memphis Audio that sells their own enclosures. They leave out one or two parameters that are vitally important to enclosure design. I'm still learning the program though and I was wondering if anyone else uses a software package that they like.

I know the Polk Audio guys have one but I can't remember what it is for the life of me.

The reason I'm looking for this is because I have a friend with some Memphis Audio subs. He is disappointed because people with less power than him on what he deems as inferior speakers, are hitting numbers in the 150-155 dB range and he is only hitting about 142-145 dB. When I asked for his T/S parameters on the subs and asked what his box was tuned for, he's way off. The sub's resonant frequency is about 40 Hz and his box is tuned for 47 Hz I think he said? Can't remember for sure. But honestly, for a high output box that has slot ports, it's set up all wrong. I wanted to try and see what I needed to do round ports and shrink the size of the box but the math comes up with a few possibilities and I wanted to see how they fleshed out without having to build multiple boxes.