Sub box wiring question

discopigg
discopigg Posts: 27
edited March 2008 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hey, this is a repost from a different(wrong) section, i apologize if anyone is reading this twice.

Hey all, my first post here, so complete noob as it stands.
I've just purchased and built a box for two MM2124 SVC subs. I'm going to use my current a800t monoblock audiobahn amp(yeah i know it's not great quality but i can't afford a new one atm) to power them.
I'm wiring them in parallel which satisfies my power/resistence requirements..
My only problem is actually implementing it. I was initially going to just install a terminal in the side of the box and have two wires running off the positive and negative terminals two each of the speakers, but i've since heard there's a fair bit of signal loss in using a terminal.

So my question in short is how do i wire my subs in parallel with minimal signal loss where i split my positive and negative wires? If that makes sense..
Any help is much appreciated. Cheers.. :)
Post edited by discopigg on

Comments

• ShinAce
    ShinAce Posts: 1,194
    edited March 2008
    The answer is to solder the wires.

If you can't solder, don't sweat it. If this kind of stuff keeps you up at night, get out of DIY audio.
  • discopigg
    edited March 2008
    ShinAce wrote: »
    The answer is to solder the wires.

If you can't solder, don't sweat it. If this kind of stuff keeps you up at night, get out of DIY audio.

I'm right to solder the wires, but i'd need a signal filter or something afterwards wouldn't I?
  • MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited March 2008
    Im not quite as fancy as other installers. I just use the terminals on the Momo sub and drill a hole thru the box and run the wires thru it then seal it up with silicone. It aint pretty but works.
    polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
    MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09