Amp for Sonosub

Options
seeclear
seeclear Posts: 1,237
edited March 2008 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
I'm wanting to make a sonosub in the near future, probably a 15" driver in a
24" tube. Would one of Zingo's amps work for that?

http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?t=65292

Also, what driver would anyone recommend? I am a total newb at this, but I like doing woodwork kind of projects and from what I have heard, one of these will rock the house. It would be primarily for HT, which may be obvious.

Thanks for any advice, in advance.
"Don't forget to change your politician. They are like diapers they need to be changed regularly, and for the same reason."
Post edited by seeclear on

Comments

• Refefer
    Refefer Posts: 1,280
    edited March 2008
    Options
    Usually Sonosubs use obscene amounts of power, and most of the drivers are 4 ohm nominal. I'd look at a used Crown Amp for lots of juice on the cheap.
    Lovin that music year after year.

Main 2 Channel System

Polk SDA-1B,
    Promitheus Audio TVC SE,
    Rotel RB-980BX,
    OPPO DV-970HD,
    Lite Audio DAC AH,
    IXOS XHA305 Interconnects

Computer Rig

Polk SDA CRS+,
    Creek Audio 5350 SE,
    Morrow Audio MA1 Interconnect,
    HRT Music Streamer II
  • zingo
    zingo Posts: 11,258
    edited March 2008
    Options
    I would like to say my Audiometric amp would work great since it can do 4 ohms all day :D. First of all, 250wpc aint shabby for the price or sound. And second, it's perfect for subs since it is not a common ground. (That's what I've been using it for) Or, you could get a DVC subs and run both leads off one amp. Just my biased .02.

Any of these drivers would work:

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=295-420

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=295-469

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=295-190

http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&Partnumber=293-622 :D
  • Refefer
    edited March 2008
    Options