So I'm studying and need help...

Serendipity
Serendipity Posts: 6,975
edited March 2008 in The Clubhouse
Been studying for Physics all day today, and came across an old test question that I could not solve:

"A cyclotron is designed to accelerate deuterium nuclei. (Deuterium has one proton and one neutron in its nucleus). (a) If the cyclotron uses a 2.0-T magnetic field, at what frequency should the dee voltage be alternated? (b) If the vacuum chamber has a diameter of 0.90m, what is the maximum kinetic energy of the deuterons? (c) If the magnitude of the potential difference between the dees is 1500V, how many orbits do the deuterons complete before achieving the energy of Part (b)?"

I've been stumped for a few hours now (will try to post a scan of my work) and I'm not sure where to go with the problem. I'd like to try and work out the problem myself, so I'd rather know how it was done than just have the answer. Where should I start? I tried using Force = q(E+V*B) but I'm not sure if this is right???

Thanks!!

P.S. Please tell me all this studying is worth it!!
polkaudio RT35 Bookshelves
polkaudio 255c-RT Inwalls
polkaudio DSWPro550WI
polkaudio XRT12 XM Tuner
polkaudio RM6750 5.1

Front projection, 2 channel, car audio... life is good!
Post edited by Serendipity on

Comments

• dragon1952
    dragon1952 Posts: 4,899
    edited March 2008
    appadv wrote: »
    Been studying for Physics all day today, and came across an old test question that I could not solve:

I've been stumped for a few hours now (will try to post a scan of my work) and I'm not sure where to go with the problem.

I'd go to the reefer with it and grab a cold one :D