Basic Tuning starter questions???

Polkemon
Polkemon Posts: 144
edited March 2008 in Car Audio & Electronics
I am just getting into the learing how to tune and adjust stuff myself so please help with understanding what I need and the differences and add-ons.
I had installed the PXA-h701 in my car and pulled it out soon after because I was getting very confused with trying to get it set right. I was not sure if I still use the PDX amps crossover or not and so on. as off now I got Alpine 9886 sent to a PDX1000.1 going to a pair of Alpine Type-R 10's and PDX4.150 2ch's going to a set of Alpine TypeX 17Refs 75rms (should I bi-amp these through the Crossover givin them 300rms per side or is that to much.

Difference between Graphic EQ & Perametric EQ and should I have both just starting out?

When you have a HD Unit that has crossover function do you turn that off if running the one on the amp. Another words just one of each(Peri. EQ, Crossover, Graphic EQ) at a time.

I am thinking about getting like a simple Audio Control Crossover and use it instead of the PDX one then maybe adding a Permi. EQ after that and learn it.

Please Help I have been doing alot of reading on this site to learn about all the setting and were to crossover and slopes etc.. but all is getting a bit confusing.

Thanks!
NEWEST RIDE:
2006 Silver Jaguar XKR Coupe with factory BBS 20" and upgraded Brembo Brakes from factory....
Supercharger Pully Upgrade
Air Intake
Mina Exhaust System....

2007 Chevy Tahoe (Daily Driver):
Front Doors POLK sr6500
Amp front JL 450/4
Amp Sub JL 500/1
Sub JL 10w6

(Work Trucks)
2005 Mercury Mountaineer Premier 4.6L V-8
All Stock!!! In the process of changing this.

2002 Chevy Silverado 2500HD 4x4 Crew Cab 6.6L Diesel
Post edited by Polkemon on

Comments

• eloplayspolo
    eloplayspolo Posts: 1,117
    edited March 2008
    use the h701, the new alpine head units are terrible for tunning.
    2013 Toyota Prius
    Audible Physics 3 Way: H6MB, AR3-A, AR2.0