Why are there TWO sets of red/black inputs on the back of my speakers??

AndyDJX
AndyDJX Posts: 3
Hi folks; total noob here. I just got some of the polk RM40ts and am a little perplexed by something that is probably obvious. With ever speaker I've ever owned, it's been pretty simple: run the speaker wire from the receiver to the speaker, and as it splits in two, insert the black end to the black input and the red side to the red input.

How come there are FOUR total inputs on the back of these speakers? Two for black, two for red (or +/-)

Feel free to laugh at me for not knowing what's going on, as long as you help provide answer as well!
Post edited by AndyDJX on

Comments

• wallstreet
    wallstreet Posts: 1,405
    edited February 2008
    You can bi-wire the speakers for improved performance. Most folks just run two wires and leave the jumper installed. Make sense? And welcome to Club Polk!
  • AndyDJX
    edited February 2008
    Hmmm... explain this to an idiot--I've just tried googling things and ended up reading about spades and bananas and wound up even more confused. I go into the electronics store and buy speaker cable. It splits into two parts; I put the copper wire stuff into the + and - on the back of my receiver. How could I run two? What's a jumper?

Thanks for the welcome! I definitely care enough about sound quaility to spend a lot on speakers/ headphones and the like but I am clearly not an audiophile in terms of my knowledge! I'm trying to learn though...
  • obieone
    obieone Posts: 5,077
    edited February 2008
    Just outta curiousity, what speakers did ya get? Don't get get all 'nuked out' over this hobby, it gets EXPENSIVE! But, to answer your question, you can go several routes: spades, banana plugs or just straight wire into the binding post.
    I refuse to argue with idiots, because people can't tell the DIFFERENCE!
  • J_Kennedy
    J_Kennedy Posts: 137
    edited February 2008