I love my SDA's

Systems
Systems Posts: 14,873
edited February 2008 in The Clubhouse
Recently I was invited over to a fellow Polkie's house to have a listen and survey for some work to be done on his abode. (You know who you are) I was impressed by some of the equipment he had ready to be demo'd. The speakers were made by the same as I was mulling over for myself. I was simply going up one notch in the series. The power he was pushing was the same as I had looked at for myself a while back. Impressive, some of you guys would want it. Nice cables, IC's, power, speakers all the goodies. Forgive me for saying this (You know who you are...LOL) but I was sort of non-impressed with the sound. I mean it was sounding pretty good. But from what I saw sitting on the rack I expected much more in the way of detail.

I started playing around with various combinations of equipment the other night. I mixed tube pre with ss amps. I mixed ss pre's with tube amps. I used different manufactures. I ran CJ with Mcintosh, ASL with Parasound. I threw some old Dynaco with newer Rotel in the mix. I switched between a set of SDA 2B's, Cornwalls, Paradigm Studio 60 V.3's, Klipsh G's, B&W 805's. I always went back to the SDA's. The equipment didn't matter as far as what I heard in the end when I went back to the SDA's. I know there are speakers that blow my 2B's away. But I like em'.

I bought my first pair of SDA's back in 1987. I demo'd several different speakers at that time. I always went back to the SDA's. I remeber trying these with Krell, CJ, Rotel & Mark Lev chit. I always went back to the SDA's. I demo'd stuff like Mirage, KEF, Mcintosh, KLH, JBL, Mission and so on. I went back to the SDA's. When it was all said and done. The deal was closed. The sales guy looked at me and said, I quote, "you have a Polk ear my friend". I guess I do. I love my SDA's. Even though they need a serious upgrade.....you know the rest.

Thanks Polk Audio.

Chuck
Testing
Testing
Testing