got me a TUBE BUFFER!!

sda2mike
sda2mike Posts: 3,131
edited December 2007 in The Clubhouse
yep, just pulled the trigger on a Yaqin Tube Buffer. Waited for one to show up from anywhere other than the Orient. Found a seller in Canada, eh?;) Heard alot of good reviews on this unit, including at least one happy customer here:) Anyway, I'll post my impressions when I get my hands on it!:cool:
Post edited by sda2mike on

Comments

• DollarDave
    DollarDave Posts: 2,575
    edited December 2007
    I scored one from RuSsMaN earlier this year. I put it in the pre-amp loop of my daughter' HK3480. It is really pretty cool...I am not very good at describing sound characteristics, but I would describe it as cleaning up the mid-range and enhancing the "warm" sound. She runs it all the time - I think it is most noticable when she is listening to her iPod.

Definitely let us know your thoughts. Seems like a good poor man's way to get into tubes.
  • sda2mike
    sda2mike Posts: 3,131
    edited December 2007
    plus with this unit, you can ROLL your tubes....and SEE them:cool: a very popular and more expensive but no better sounding unit out there, doesn't allow either...i like to see tubes at the very least!!
  • hearingimpared
    hearingimpared Posts: 21,137
    edited December 2007
    I've been toying with the notion of using a tube buffer between my DAC to preamp until I get enough money saved up for the SACD/CD player I am looking at. Please post your impressions.
  • nms
    nms Posts: 671
    edited December 2007
    I've been toying with the notion of using a tube buffer between my DAC to preamp until I get enough money saved up for the SACD/CD player I am looking at. Please post your impressions.

Sony makes a 5 disc SACD/CD player for $150 that's gotten really good reviews. I forget the model number...
    My system

"The world is an ever evolving clusterf*ck." --treitz3
  • hearingimpared
    edited December 2007
    nms wrote: »