Work Question: Asset Management

MrNightly
MrNightly Posts: 3,370
edited July 2007 in The Clubhouse
Ok, so I just started my new job two weeks ago, and I absolutely love it! It's the best thing that's happened to me in work, in a long long time. I'm a project manager of a commercial flooring company. Pretty high flow of jobs, I'm still learning the ropes, but already in 2 weeks have dealt with over 9 new projects. Freakin' busy, but lovin' it.

I already was asked by the boss (Founded the company 7 years ago) to write SOP (Standard Operation Procedures) for a bunch of the processes we use... and have almost completed quite a few of them.

He then mentioned to me yesterday, that he really wants our company to step into the Asset Management aspect of flooring... but hasn't really started it yet. He feels that replacement, and maintenance of the floors we sell will generate a TON of repeat business...as well as let the customer know the best way to treat and care for their flooring... so here's my long winded question:

I want to create a nice, neat, pretty folder that is handed to the customer after installation and completion of the flooring projects (Tile, stone, Carpet Tile, Wood, Bamboo, Terrazzo, Rubber... you name it, we do it!!!) The folder would include information on the product's they had installed, normal wear and tear of the product, life cycle and a scheduled maintenance program for replacement (etc etc) Does anybody have experience in something like this? The goal would be to extend the life of their flooring by replacing high traffic area's, and over a period of say, 10 years, their entire carpet would be replaced and new... It would also be to bring them back for repeat business.

I know my boss will let me create anything I want to, he really wants me to run with ideas... so any thoughts on this for me? Websites that could help structure it?