Headphones?

jflail2
jflail2 Posts: 2,868
edited June 2007 in The Clubhouse
The better 1/2 just gave me my birthday present, a set of Sennheiser 485's!

I know they're not the nicest cans on the market, but these things have blown me away so far. I had no clue bass could be that....present in a set of headphones. And clean! I'm not good at describing what I hear, but the clarity is just incredible. The highs are crisp, the lows are deep and accurate, with no distortion or muddiness. Talk about renewing a love for classical music in the workplace; these have most definitely done it.

So what nice headphones do you have/recommend? It wouldn't hurt to have another pair at some point for my office, and to leave here at work permanently, etc :)

I'm sure in the grand scheme of things these are just "above average", but they have certainly impressed me.
2007 Club Polk Football Pool Champ

2010 Club Polk Fantasy Football Champ

2011 Club Polk Football Pool Champ

"It's like a koala bear crapped a rainbow in my brain!"
Post edited by jflail2 on

Comments

• mulveling
    mulveling Posts: 505
    edited June 2007
    What you're hearing in the bass region is a complete lack of room effects...all but the most meticulously designed speaker systems will have significant deviations from a flat bass response due to room acoustics (not to mention the issues with phase, etc with multi-driver systems). Headphones can be a wonderful reference if you don't mind the sound-in-the-head thing. Some people just gotta have a big wall of sound in front of them :)

When you're ready to step it up, the Sennheiser HD650 at ~ $300 new will get you about as far as you'll need to go in the headphone world, though you can buy some other nice headphones up to $7K (used!). The rest is up to your source and amp - oh yeah, at the HD650 level you'll need a nice dedicated headphone amp, preferrably tube...it also benefits greatly from a nice vinyl source :)